Welcome to docs.opsview.com

Contacts

This page defines the contacts, or the users, of Opsview.

Be aware that some changes are immediately applicable:

  • password changes (you will not be logged out)
  • contact deletion means the user will not be able to use Opsview straight away
  • some access rights do not require a reload

Everything else requires an Opsview reload to take effect.

Edit view

Name

This is the full name for the contact.

Username

This is the username used for logging into Opsview. This must be unique

Note: The single sign-on system uses the username as the key, so if you change an existing user's username, this may cause problems.

You cannot edit an existing user's username (this was committed in trunk in 2012-07-02).

Comments

Free text for this contact.

Role

There are 5 default roles:

  • Admin - can make administration changes to Opsview
  • View all, change some - can see status for everything, but can only change a subset of hosts and services
  • View some, change some - can only see status for a subset, but also have ability to change those
  • View all, change none - can see everything and have no change ability
  • View some, change none - can see specific items, with no change ability

See authorisation for more explanation of the access control.

You can also configure your own roles.

Note that if you save a new role for a contact, all this contact's notification profiles will have appropriate host groups, service groups or keywords removed if the new role does not allow access.

Language

You can select a language for this contact. The web pages will be translated to reflect.

The list of languages is based on the translation files available.

The default option is to Use browser setting, which means the browser will send which languages it is willing to accept.

Opsview will fallback to English if your language does not exist.

More details can be found in the internationalisation page.

Authentication Realm

This popup is only available if there is more than one realm defined for authentication. Currently, only LDAP is supported.

There will also be an option for local, which means the passwords will be stored in the Opsview configuration database.

Password

For local users, you can set the initial password or reset it.

Access Objects

From Opsview 3.11.0, these are moved to the role configuration.

Notifications

Under the notifications tab are parameters for notifications. You can choose shared notification profiles which have predefined notification parameters, or create your own customised notification profiles.

There is also a list of variables that are required based on the active notification methods. These variables are required for the notification method to work correctly. Note, that common variables are listed below, although the actual list is dependent on your system.

Shared Notification Profiles

This is a select list of shared notification profiles configured for your role. You can select more than one option.

These notification profiles will be added after any personal notification profiles you may have.

Note: if your role is changed, then all shared notification profiles will be removed from your list. This is because shared notification profiles are role specific.

Email

You can enter multiple email addresses by using a comma to separate the list.

Mobile

This is the number used by SMS notification methods.

If you have problems receiving a notification, check:

  • Your number is correct
  • That the a notification was sent by Opsview

You may need to check further with your SMS system as there could be other reasons why the message was not sent. Be aware that SMS has no guaranteed delivery mechanism.

Web Feed

Opsview can provide notifications to used via an Atom feed (the RSS feed has been deprecated). The Atom feed is linked off every page (to http://opsview.example.com/atom).

Options for feeds include:

Maximum Items

The maximum number of items to be listed in a feed at any one time

Maximum Age

The maximum age (in minutes) an item will be in a feed before being removed

Collapsed Feed

Should each object in the feed be updated (selected), or should a new item be added (unselected).

If this is on, that means that if a host goes from a DOWN state to an UP state, only the UP state will be in the feed because it is the latest state for that object.

Navigation
Print/export
Toolbox